Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

C# - Read FFXIV log files and in-game chat

Greetings,

I am looking for help in C# coding to be able to read the content of the FFXIV log folder as well as the game's memory chat entries.

I am new to C# coding and this is a little project I am starting.

I am willing to learn and I need the help of someone really more experienced than me in coding to achieve this as it requires to read memory addresses which I have never done.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks a lot for your time and help.

Here is my progress so far:

I have been trying, during the weekend, to find the memory address for the chat log, just to get started.

I was able to find one and even do a pointer scan, but I cannot get the time stamp.

According to the log files, the structure in the memory should be the following (the log files are memory dumps):

https://i.imgur.com/by3VaAX.png

Any hints as to how I could find the exact location of the time stamp, type of chat and then the message string in the game's memory?

I was able to find this on another website as well:

"The chat log is a memory dump of the internal text table when it rolls off. It takes 1000 lines to roll off and only when this roll off occurs is the log dumped to the file. So, the log is not "live" and if you log off you lose everything in memory (they are not written out). So defeats the purpose of building an app around the logs.

Either way, I wrote an audio trigger app during beta (chatmon 2), that I currently only distro between my fc. Here is what I discovered about the chat line, which I will share here.

•delimited by 3 colons: STAMPCHANNEL:SENDER:TEXT
    •sender can be empty

TIMESTAMP = first 8 hex characters (4 bytes) Filter = 9th byte Channel = 10th byte

51C4A21C0839::Player joins the party.

51C4A242000C: tell TO Player

51C4A6B5000D: tell from Player