0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

IDA locks up on Rebasing.

I am a total noob with this stuff so thanks for being patient with me, but IDA is the tool I am most comfortable with, and everytime I try to Attach the debugger or Create the process with IDA attached, both WOW and IDA lock up on "Please Wait Rebasing"

Anyone run into this issue or have any recommendations? I tried using CheatEngine and Immunity Debugger and they both work fine, but I have a hard time finding stuff in it ( for example the LUA functions )

I even tried finding the address I want in IDA static view and trying to get Immunity debugger to goto the same address but its not valid, probably because it been rebased.

I am kinda stuck because I am trying to follow functions to figure out how they work, because I am to much of a noob to figure out what something does without knowing the values that are being moved around....

IDA locks up on Rebasing.
    xalcon's Avatar Contributor ふたなり
    Authenticator enabled
    Thanks G/R
    20/58
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IDA isnt that well written (in the case of "responsiveness"). It takes quite a bit of time and in the meantime, IDA just dont responds to input :/ (even on my i7 2nd gen it takes up to 15 minutes to rebase the wow executable beforehand). I dont know if there is a workaround to this :/

I dont know the "immunity debugger" but I've used CheatEngine for some debugging stuff. In order to find a static address in memory, like 0x00523456, you need to remove the IDA Base (which is 0x400000 by default) and then add the the wow base address. In CheatEngine you could type someting like this:
    Code:
    wow.exe + 523456 - 400000
    Last edited by xalcon; 05-17-2014 at 01:17 PM.
    "Threads should always commit suicide - they should never be murdered" - DirectX SDK

JuJuBoSc's Avatar Banned for scamming CoreCoins Purchaser