148/415
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Regarding the PQR ban

As a fellow developer I'm always interested in understanding the specifics of a ban. As you all know, PQR was recently detected which resulted in the ban of a few thousand accounts. As somebody who has seen a lot of talk about PQR but never actually using it, could somebody please shed some light as to how it worked and how it became detected. I found that "It uses both simple memory reading as well as a memory detour to execute Lua code", does this mean it injected a hack to bypass lua protection? I also found that it used an in-game addon which had a feature to notify the user about potential updates, another red flag in my book.

In essence, was PQR fully external, or did it inject something into the game? If it was external, what would be some of the things that allowed it to become detected? If it was internal/injected I guess it was only a matter of time, but what aspect made it most detectable?

Thanks and, as always, I'm interested in what you guys have to say regarding detectability mitigation.

Regarding the PQR ban
    cukiemunster's Avatar Contributor
    Thanks G/R
    1/2
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A very good possibility is the use of PQI, which is an in game addon that communicates with the chat window. Xelper(creator of PQR) had this to say about the matter:

Originally Posted by Xelper View Post
    My huge concern is that many profiles used PQI, and PQI used CHAT_MSG_ADDON as a version check...

Code:
    function ADDON:CHAT_MSG_ADDON( event, prefix, message, channel, sender)
        --if sender == E.myname then return end
        if prefix == "VC" and not ADDON.recievedOutOfDateMessage then
            if ADDON.version ~= 'BETA' and tonumber(message) ~= nil and tonumber(message) > tonumber(ADDON.version) then