Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Checksum checks in World of Warcraft

Hello astute readers,

I am the owner of a private server (at version 3.1.3) and I have long wished for a way to customize spells (to undo the butchering of gameplay that Blizzard has done). However, whenever I modified Spell.dbc, World of Warcraft would throw error 83 (file corrupt) in my face. So, I inducted myself into assembly programming.

Using the renowned debugger OllyDBG, I studied Wow.exe and experimented for a whole week. I had figured it should be as easy as changing a few conditional jumps into unconditional ones, but whenever I tackled one check, another would be thrown in my face.

My question to you is this: has anyone succeeded in disabling the file checks in the client? If not, I am looking for someone to work with on this. I have built up some documentation on the functions inside Wow.exe.

Thanks in advance,

Itzamna

Checksum checks in World of Warcraft
    Sonic Waffle's Avatar Contributor
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WoWME fix? I believe it's bypassing the file checks. Although I am not certain that it does the same for DBCs, I know it does it for MPQs, so surely DBCs must have been noted before. Since half the game uses DBCs.

Itzamna's Avatar Member
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your response, Dark Soul;

sadly, the WoWMe executable does not disrupt the DBC checks. However, as I said, I did learn a lot about the functions inside Wow.exe (talking about the 3.1.3 client):

The function at address 0x008ea5a0 appears to be the general MoPaQ function, called whenever the client needs access to a MoPaQ archive, it includes the ASCII strings patch-%s.MPQ, patch-%s-2.MPQ and locale-%s.MPQ.