Thanks G/R
    1/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question about Injecting into WoW Classic (+ introducing myself, kind of)

Hey Everyone,
    loooong time lurker, first time poster. I'll preface my Questions with some unrelated ramblings about me.
    [feel free to skip ]
    I studied CS and worked mainly as a web/fullstack dev since then. Doing some hobbyist Gamedev whenever I have time.
    I was always fascinated by automation of any form, and have written several Combatroutines/plugins for a few products, HBuddy, WAdvanced, some PoE stuff.. But always relying on people to provide the platform for me.
    Due to some personal affairs, I currently have more time than I want, and decided to finally get deeper into gamehacking with the new year, dust off some of my very rusty cpp and work on my reversing skills.

So far the Results have been... well, let's say I got very comfortable with Typescript and the ease of just protyping and building things really fast. So it's slowly geting somewhere, but god damn is it satisfying when a concept clicks and you learn something new. I started with a good old fashioned book, "Game Hacking - Developing Autonomous Bots for Online Games" which is a bit dated, but it was a very nice introduction into asm, codecaves and other fun process & memory manipulation.
    Armed with that knowledge, I just hacked away at some old old games, RTS, FPS, Solo RP games, some good nostalgia
    Went from some live patching with xdgb attached to writing patches for the binary and some external console trainers, nothing fancy, definitely need to check out some graphic library hooking soon.
    Next Step was injecting, which opened a lot more interesting possibilities, got stuck for a good while on x86 calling conventions, but beeing able to freely call gamefunctions is amazing.