.alb files? menu

User Tag List

Thread: .alb files?

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    soniczoom's Avatar Private
    Reputation
    1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    .alb files?

    Hi,

    Does anyone here know how to edit the .alb files ?

    .alb files?
  2. #2
    TiroHyst's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll need something like unluac to decompile the alb file into lua code.

    If you have the file loot.alb, you run it from the command line like such (with loot.alb in the same directory as unluac.jar)

    Code:
    java -jar unluac.jar loot.alb > loot.lua
    If you want to replace the .alb then you'll need to do a few more steps: Always have a backup of your unmodified game_pak

    • Edit your new lua file and make whatever changes you want
    • Find out the size of the original .alb file in bytes
    • Pad out the lua file with -'s to increase the size (i.e. ---------) until it is the same as the .alb, or trim out other parts where you can to reduce the size
    • Rename the .lua to .alb and import it back into your game_pak

  3. #3
    weedandcoffee's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by TiroHyst View Post
    You'll need something like unluac to decompile the alb file into lua code.

    If you have the file loot.alb, you run it from the command line like such (with loot.alb in the same directory as unluac.jar)

    Code:
    java -jar unluac.jar loot.alb > loot.lua
    If you want to replace the .alb then you'll need to do a few more steps: Always have a backup of your unmodified game_pak

    • Edit your new lua file and make whatever changes you want
    • Find out the size of the original .alb file in bytes
    • Pad out the lua file with -'s to increase the size (i.e. ---------) until it is the same as the .alb, or trim out other parts where you can to reduce the size
    • Rename the .lua to .alb and import it back into your game_pak

    thank you so much man i've been trying to figure out why my edited alb lua files wont work when i import them back into the game_pak, i didnt know they had to be the same size. i appreciate you sharing this info i will try this soon.

  4. #4
    TiroHyst's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No problem

    quickbms kind of hints at this when you go over the size (it'll state it's larger than what the archive is expecting and can overwrite other parts of it - a reason to keep a backup just in case) but nothing when it's under the size.

    Good luck!

Similar Threads

  1. LightWaves list of file hosts
    By LightWave in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 04:41 AM
  2. For people who dont know how to Identify Files
    By Fault in forum World of Warcraft Model Editing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 08:22 PM
  3. Change WoW Music Files?
    By Shadowman2418 in forum World of Warcraft General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 12:06 PM
  4. Allow members to upload files to the forums?
    By Matt in forum Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 08:07 AM
  5. The Wow-dupe File!!
    By Cyboi in forum World of Warcraft Exploits
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-14-2006, 10:14 PM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search