Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

[STUPID QUESTION] How to find stuff while reversing.

So I am very new to the actual act of reversing programs. I have managed to be able to get address's people have posted and figure out how to make them work.

For example I created a wow bot that did the work I wanted. The problem I ran into was I always had to wait on other people to release offset. With Diablo 3, I think there is a great opportunity for me to really increase my skills in this.

So I am looking to learn how to find stuff from scratch. I want to learn how to get a new binary and without the help of others others find what I need. I know this is probably very far away but I guess its as good of any place to start.

So my question is:

How can you find the function that controls movement, I assume its a function you call within the player class that you pass POSITION info. So how do you go about finding this function?

Second is how do you find the function that prints to the chat window? Someone else posted the function at 0x00A4F190, but how did this person find this?

I can find stuff like health and stuff like that cause it has changing values you can look for but how do you find functions like these?

[STUPID QUESTION] How to find stuff while reversing.
    moletas's Avatar Member
    Thanks G/R
    4/0
    Trade Feedback
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    helth based on color in most cases pixel detection.
    position on screen just use any macro recorder or autoit
    Last edited by moletas; 08-09-2012 at 04:20 AM.

DrakeFish's Avatar Lazy Leecher

Thanks G/R
    0/14
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by cenron View Post
    So I am very new to the actual act of reversing programs. I have managed to be able to get address's people have posted and figure out how to make them work.