How to make lua scripted portals menu

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    *Alexz*'s Avatar Member
    Reputation
    105
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    521
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to make lua scripted portals

    its a simple code (put it in notepad):

    function Teleporting_onUse (pUnit, Event, pMisc)
    pMisc:Teleport (Map ID, X cord, Y cord, Z cord)
    end
    RegisterGameObjectEvent (Object id, 2, 'Teleporting_onUse')

    then just save it as name.lua


    (fill in the spots then copy and paste into navicat or w/e you use)
    spawnid 22 7146 portal name 31 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    Last edited by *Alexz*; 02-17-2008 at 03:17 PM. Reason: added object

    How to make lua scripted portals
  2. #2
    colincancer's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    63
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    509
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm i dont understand what scripting portals would do? idk, i know how to script..lets say boss fights, and i understand it's purpose, but i dont know what doing this will achieve, sorry, please tell me lol.
    #JODYS'WATCHiN

  3. #3
    Anarchy [RD]'s Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    132
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    547
    Thanks G/R
    0/2
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    scripting portals means to make a portal that is a game object lol, it doesnt achieve anything, it looks like a mage spawned portal... but its permanant and a GM/Admin can place it where they want.... thats all

  4. #4
    colincancer's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    63
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    509
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmmm cant you do that by just making one in the database like in my guide here...http://www.mmowned.com/forums/ascent...m-portals.html? lol, or is this a fancy way of doing it? or am i missing something here? lol
    #JODYS'WATCHiN

  5. #5
    Anarchy [RD]'s Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    132
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    547
    Thanks G/R
    0/2
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol, this is lua scripted, not much difference but it is sorta easier lol
    unless u have no clue with what ur doing...

  6. #6
    chaoticd35's Avatar Site Donator
    Reputation
    44
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    337
    Thanks G/R
    5/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by *Alexz* View Post
    its a simple code (put it in notepad):

    function Teleporting_onUse (pUnit, Event, pMisc)
    pMisc:Teleport (Map ID, X cord, Y cord, Z cord)
    end
    RegisterGameObjectEvent (Object id, 2, 'Teleporting_onUse')

    then just save it as name.lua


    (fill in the spots then copy and paste into navicat or w/e you use)
    spawnid 22 7146 portal name 31 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0



    Ok in this code, what all do I edit? I know you need to edit The Map ID, Xcord, Y cord, Z cord and the Object Id. But is there any thing else?
    And where in my server files do I put it?
    edit: do i put in my script file?

  7. #7
    2dgreengiant's Avatar ★ Elder ★


    Reputation
    1190
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,129
    Thanks G/R
    1/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    gast has already posted a guide on how to do this
    If you need me you have my skype, if you don't have my skype then you don't need me.

  8. #8
    *Alexz*'s Avatar Member
    Reputation
    105
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    521
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by chaoticd35 View Post
    Ok in this code, what all do I edit? I know you need to edit The Map ID, Xcord, Y cord, Z cord and the Object Id. But is there any thing else?
    And where in my server files do I put it?
    edit: do i put in my script file?
    the script you save as .lua and put it into your script folder



    and the object you put in to gameobject_names

  9. #9
    Gastricpenguin's Avatar Legendary
    Reputation
    980
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,236
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Life Puzzler WoW - Website | Forums

  10. #10
    *Alexz*'s Avatar Member
    Reputation
    105
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    521
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oh sry didnt see that xD

Similar Threads

  1. [GUIDE][NOOB-FRIENDLY]No Spell Replace: How to Make LUA Portals!
    By sasoritail in forum WoW EMU Guides & Tutorials
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-15-2009, 09:31 AM
  2. How To Make A Custom Portal easy Newb Friendy Tutorial pWd By Winckler
    By winckler in forum WoW EMU Guides & Tutorials
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 10-05-2008, 10:50 PM
  3. How to make a custom portal easy!
    By pooooo132 in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 08:59 PM
  4. [Guide] How to make LUA portals easy and noobie too!
    By Ellenor in forum WoW EMU Guides & Tutorials
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 09:10 PM
  5. [GUIDE] How to activate LUA scripts
    By ~SaiLyn~ in forum WoW EMU Guides & Tutorials
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 11:52 AM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search