[GUIDE] How to make items cost 'tokens' or 'event coins' menu

User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 82
  1. #1
    Bohater's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [GUIDE] How to make items cost 'tokens' or 'event coins'

    Ok, I haven't seen any guides on how to do this so I figured that I'd make my own:

    Let's Begin:

    Files you will need:

    DBCutil:Link
    What this program does: basically converts DBC files into CSV files (and back again) for editing purposes. (credits go to nneonneo for making this program)
    CSVed:Link
    What this program does: allows you to edit and save CSV files.

    Ok, now that you've downloaded those files, extract the DBCutil.rar to wherever you will remeber where it is, and install CSVed.exe\

    STEP 1: Go and find the id of the token/event coin/etc... using Navicat etc... mine was 35091

    STEP 2: Go into where your private server files are (pretty much ascent core, where you ascent and logonserver conf files are) and find the folder called "DBC"

    STEP 3: In that folder locate and find the file called ItemExtendedCost.dbc, now copy and paste that file into the DBCutil folder.

    STEP 4: DRAG the ItemExtendedCost.dbc file over to the file called DBCutil (it will be an application file). A window will come up, do something and then close (this is the conversion process). You will now see a new file has been created and is also called ItemExtendedCost.dbc (if you have MS Excel it will look like and excel file, please don't open it)

    STEP 5: Open up CSVed and go to file, then open and select the newly created file in the DBCutil folder. NOTE: in the name it will be ItemExtended Cost.dbc but it is actually a .csv file, its just the name that might screw you up when looking for it in the DBCutil folder.

    STEP 6: You will now see something similar to a table in Navicat appear. Scroll down to the bottom, right click and a drop down menu should appear. Select 'add record'. A new window will open up.

    This is what you type in those fields:
    Code:
    Column 1: The Entry ID, pick one that is not used already (try something higher than 3000)
    Column 2: 0
    Column 3: 0
    Column 4: The ID of your token/event coin etc... mine was 35091 so I type that here.
    Column 5: 0
    Column 6: 0x0 (I don't know why it's like that, but it looks like some Hex. numbering, but you don't need to know that :p)
    Column 7: leave blank.
    Column 8: leave blank.
    Column 9: This is the amount of tokens/event coins that is required to purchase an item (ex. I made a custom item and I want it to cost 150 tokens, so I type 150 here)
    Column 10-14: all 0 and leave Column 15 blank.


    STEP 7:
    Now go to file, scroll down and press Save (or you can do Ctrl+S)

    STEP 8: Remember that ItemExtendedCost.dbc file that you copied and pasted into the DBCutil folder? Delete it.

    STEP 9: In your DBCutil folder, drag and drop that ItemExtendedCost.dbc that looks like a MS Excel file over to the DBCutil application. Again, a window will appear with some text and close briefly. You will now see a new file created. This is your ItemExntendedCost.dbc that looked like a MS Excel file but it is now actually a .dbc file!

    STEP 10: Ok, copy that file that was created and paste it into the DBC folder where your core files are and overwrite the old one (It will most likely ask you if you want to overwrite the old one, press yes)

    STEP 11: Now all thats left to do is go into Navicat/etc.. and go into the table called items, find the item that you want to cost tokens/event coins. Scroll over to the column called ItemExtendedCost and type in the number that you chose back in step 6 for Column 1.

    CONGRATS! You can now go and check in game if this was done successfully. You should now not be able to purchase that item
    unless you have the correct number of tokens/event coins that you specified back in step 6 for Column 9.


    *NOTE* I'm aware that ingame it doesn't show you how many tokens/coins/etc..
    are needed, but you could edit the item in the yellow text area to say "Costs x Tokens" or something like that!


    Hope this helped you out and if you run into any problems just ask here and I'll do my best to help you. :wave:

    [GUIDE] How to make items cost 'tokens' or 'event coins'
  2. #2
    kalkar9's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tnx its really useful! i would rep u if i could

  3. #3
    ggace's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice guide gonna give it a shot!

  4. #4
    zerohero's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    like u said, u dont know what column 6 is, is it possible that thats the icon that shows up in the item box???
    and really nice guide ive been looking 4 this about 2 months now.

  5. #5
    Bohater's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your welcome guys :P

    zerohero: it could be, but I don't think so. I'll mess around with that to find out though

  6. #6
    zerohero's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    also one question, could u do this with the maps.dbc to make an area non pvp?

  7. #7
    Bohater's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    zerohero: I believe it is possible to make an area a sanctuary. However, I don't know how to do this and if it invovles editing maps.dbc. Try poking around the Ascent Emu site, maybe its somewhere there

  8. #8
    zerohero's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Field 5 of AreaTable.dbc contains the various flags for a given area.

    The value 2048 is required for the santurary effect ( see ObjectMgr.cpp )


    <<< taken from 'http://www.ascentemu.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=6109" posted by WRS...

  9. #9
    Incinerator's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    before you guys all go ape and think im some sort of gohd for knowing the column info ... there is a wiki page for that..

    ItemExtendedCost.dbc - Source Peek Wiki

    I am also going to post the wiki site so maybe i can get a couple rep...:P tired of being at 0 heh heh

    1 ID Integer
    2 Unknown Integer Theory is general honor cost to purchase
    3 costArena Integer How many Arena "honor" points an item costs.
    4 iRefID_ItemCache_1 Integer Item 1
    5 iRefID_ItemCache_2 Integer Item 2
    6 iRefID_ItemCache_3 Integer Item 3
    7 iRefID_ItemCache_4 Integer Item 4
    8 iRefID_ItemCache_5 Integer Item 5
    9 itemCount_1 Integer Number of item 1 needed
    10 itemCount_2 Integer Number of item 2 needed
    11 itemCount_3 Integer Number of item 3 needed
    12 itemCount_4 Integer Number of item 4 needed
    13 itemCount_5 Integer Number of item 5 needed
    14 SelfRank Integer



    once again disclaimer i am only copying and pasting info from another site and have included the site info.
    Last edited by Incinerator; 12-31-2007 at 03:29 PM. Reason: formatted list better

  10. #10
    zerohero's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    w8, i dont understand ur post, Incinerator, what do 4-8 do?

  11. #11
    Incinerator's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    NP Zero.. 4-8 are the Item you want it to cost.. 9-13 are the quantity of said item.. EG.. you want somthing to cost SAY... 500 clay scarabs and 250 bone scarabs (both items from an qiraj held in stacks of 250) you would put

    column 4 20863 this is the item id for clay scarab.
    column 9 500 this is the cost in items for column 4.
    column 5 20864 this is the item id for bone scarab.
    column 10 250 this is the cost in items for column 5.

    you can use your own items and such. i just used the scarabs cuz they were easy to look up. and did stacks of 250 so i could demonstrate with big numbers.

  12. #12
    nether drake's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    155
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great Thanks Alot
    I have 38 Title do you have more...?

  13. #13
    saperior's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    58
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    136
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ty good guide

  14. #14
    StefanSon's Avatar Banned
    Reputation
    14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    221
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Huh, nice guide but im missing 1 thing,,,
    See im using server tokens, ''Dark Throne Token'' --> Number 70070
    And the number i'v input at Collumn 1 = 7070 .
    So now how do i like get then vendor in the game?
    Or should i manualy add the item to vendor? -> .npc vendoradditem ?

  15. #15
    Falor's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    201
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So i have 1 question, when i put in the ID, is that the id for the item that will cost the coin, or just a random entry id?

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How do i make items cost Tokens?
    By controlsx2 in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-01-2008, 05:42 PM
  2. [Request] How to make item sold by token?
    By Ellenor in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 07:26 AM
  3. [Question] How to make items buyable with Marks and Token
    By Spurven in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-29-2007, 04:25 AM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search