0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

WoW Mage - PvP Pointers for the Fire Mage

by Cameron Bolton,

Fire-Spec Mage 1-on-1 PvP urewin:

This section is going to be a bit narrow in scope, but if you ever PvP as a Mage, this may save your life. My advice is very Fire-Spec specific; someone who goes Ice-spec may have different methods of dealing with threats. I haven't explored Ice yet, and I'm only beginning to explore Arcane. I do agree that the Clearcasting talent is worth every Talent point. :fatty:

As a Mage, you have to be able to adapt to different situations in different fashions. Unlike a Warrior or Paladin (who will always go straight for melee), or a Hunter (who will always send in the pet and snipe from range), a Mage's PvP tactics, by necessity, vary wildly depending on your opponent. Note that all of this is assuming a "fair" fighting situation - no jumping someone while they're doing PvE combat. Any class can take out any other equal-level class and often higher by doing that; it's not sporting. However, if you're on a PvP server (as I am), "sporting" may not always be foremost in your mind. Keep in mind that in many-on-one fights (3 to 1 or worse), you're probably dead no matter what you do, no matter what class you are, even if you have level superiority.
    ops:
    Part I: Talents

Obviously, everyone is going to have different ideas of what makes for the best PvP talents. However, there are some that I feel are no-brainers.

Impact - Your first five Talent points go here. Being able to Stun with Fire spells 10% of the time is a massive (although somewhat unpredictable) edge in PvP combat, just as much as it is in PvE combat.