Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

TrinityCore 3.3.5 exploit research

Hello everyone!
    I was looking through the issues on the trinitycore github and found interesting (for me ) one: [Exploit/Dupe] Container item by robinsch . Pull Request #26689 . TrinityCore/TrinityCore . GitHub
    It's already fixed, but it became interesting for me to reproduce it on the code that was before the fix commits.
    As there is no description of how it should be reproduced, it remains only to make some assumptions on the changes made.
    Needless to say, I'm not good at C++ at all, but despite this, I was able to debug the code and do a little research.
    To fix this exploit, the [item_index] column was added to the [characters].[item_loot_items] table, the loot generation logic, and the query generation logic for deleting data from the database were also changed to handle the new column.
    As far as I could understand, there is no more usages for new itemIndex field of LootItem class but the loot generation in the method Loot::AddItem and deleting from DB in the method LootItemStorage::RemoveStoredLootItemForContainer.
    This field is not used in any validations on creating item/sending loot, it's only passed to the method LootItemStorage::RemoveStoredLootItemForContainer in the end of Player::StoreLootItem method, after loot packet sent to the client. Based on this, I concluded that the exploit is associated only with deleting the wrong row from the database.
    There are no restrictions for the table [characters].[item_loot_items] in the DB schema, like unique columns or composit keys, so it's theoretically possible to have two or more different items with same ID in the same container.
    So, let's take a look on
    DB query, generated BEFORE fix:
    Code:
    DELETE FROM item_loot_items WHERE container_id = 500 AND item_id = 33447 AND item_count = 5
    and DB query, generated AFTER fix:
    Code: