[TrinityCore 3.3.5] I want to alter scripts/source files, but have no idea where/how. menu

User Tag List

RikuAotsuki's Avatar Member
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

[TrinityCore 3.3.5] I want to alter scripts/source files, but have no idea where/how.

I'm new to this stuff, and I'm trying to figure out as much as I can on my own, but I've run into a bit of a stumbling block.

There's a lot of things I want to alter, and just can't seem to actually find where or how to do so. In some cases, the code is fairly easy for me to understand, but altering or replicating it are another matter entirely.. For a few examples:

Haste: I know about the DBC for ratings (Though if someone could direct me to a solid list of the order they go in in that file, that'd be great; I can't find one), but I want to implement an increasing return for it. I looked through source files, and found a section in Player.cpp for various stat formulas. I read through the section on dodge, but as far as I can tell, the formula there calculates the portion of dodge which is subject to diminishing returns, but not the actual formula for diminishing returns itself, so I have no idea how I'd actually go about implementing such a thing.

Vampiric Touch and Unstable Affliction: In both cases, I'd like to make the backfire effects that occur on dispel also trigger at the end of the spell's duration. With Unstable Affliction, I just wound up adding a periodic trigger effect for 15 seconds to cast the backfire spell, but Vampiric Touch benefits from haste, and already has three effects. I found the script in spell_priest.cpp, but I have no idea how I'd actually change it.

Chef's Hat passive: The passive that makes you cook faster. It uses a dummy effect, but I can't find it in the source files at all. I want to make similar items for other professions, but I have no idea where to look.