Trade Feedback
    3 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

8.1.0 RemapViewOfSection 0x80 causing ACCESS_VIOLATION

Hi,

First off I'm relatively new to the reversing / botting scene (3~ months).

These forums have been really helpful with getting me to where I am now so thank you all!

A few months back I wrote a really basic internal bot for 8.0.1.27980.

As I wanted to call in game functions from the main thread I found a function to detour.

Once my DLL is injected I make a call to RemapViewOfSection with 0x40 to allow memory writes (using the code found here : Force-Page-Protection/memory.cpp at master . changeofpace/Force-Page-Protection . GitHub ) then use MinHook to install my detour.

Everything was working perfectly, had my fishing bot running on multiple clients for hours on end making calls to Interact and FrameExecuteBuffer with no exceptions. Happy botting...

Now, 8.1.0( 28768 ) has dropped and wow is crashing about a 1/3 of the time when the bot gets injected.

I originally thought it might be something to do with my dll injection process or the detour being installed.

However, through a process of elimination I'm almost 100% sure the issue is the remap (RemapViewOfSection).

I wrote a simple test that starts Wow.exe and calls remap with 0x40 , no DLL injection or hooking.

Confirmed that 1/3 of the time the call to remap causes Wow.exe to crash with :
    [15816] ACCESS_VIOLATION : error 138: ERROR #138 (0x8510008a) Fatal exception!
    [15816] The instruction at "0x0000000000000000" referenced memory at "0x0000000000000000".
    [15816] The memory could not be "executed".

My only guess is there is something in wow process that is checking for a change in memory protection and crashing the game.

Note : I have also tried remapping the memory with 0x80 as suggested here (https://www.ownedcore.com/forums/wor...-coming-8.html (The Free Lunch Is Over - Obfuscation is Coming)) by king48488 but still running into the same issue.