[Paid assistance] Unit Party Number menu

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Soapbox's Avatar Legendary Founder of Soapbox Rotations

    CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    743
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    986
    Thanks G/R
    1118/364
    Trade Feedback
    61 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Paid assistance] Unit Party Number

    Hello all, I am looking for someone that can assist me in developing a function that, simply, will just check which party group the unit I am checking is in.

    I am using this as a means for Prayer of Healing, a spell that only hits units that art in the same party. There currently is no WoW API that supports this without indexing the raid.

    Code:
    function GroupNumber(unit)
        for i=1, GetNumGroupMembers() do
            local name, rank, subgroup = GetRaidRosterInfo(i)
            if name == UnitName(unit) then
                return "Group "..subgroup
            end
        end
    end
    I want something more like this, I just don't have the tool kit to make it work correctly

    Code:
    select(3,GetRaidRosterInfo(string.sub(tostring(unit), 5)))

    Any assistance with this would be greatly appreciated and the successful creation of it will be generously compensated.

    [Paid assistance] Unit Party Number
  2. #2
    RedRussian's Avatar Banned CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    221
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    430
    Thanks G/R
    2/3
    Trade Feedback
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So what if you try something like this?
    Code:
    function GroupNumber(unit)
       local GROUP_SIZE = 5
       for i = 1, 40 do
          if UnitIsUnit(unit, "raid"..i) then
             return math.ceil( i / GROUP_SIZE )
          end
       end
    end
    Last edited by RedRussian; 09-01-2014 at 10:49 AM.

  3. #3
    Soapbox's Avatar Legendary Founder of Soapbox Rotations

    CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    743
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    986
    Thanks G/R
    1118/364
    Trade Feedback
    61 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by RedRussian View Post
    So what if you try something like this?
    Code:
    function GroupNumber(unit)
       local GROUP_SIZE = 5
       for i = 1, 40 do
          if UnitIsUnit(unit, "raid"..i) then
             return math.ceil( i / GROUP_SIZE )
          end
       end
    end
    Always returns 1. You're just returning 1 divided by 5 ceil. S regardless of which group im in it will just return 1

  4. #4
    RedRussian's Avatar Banned CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    221
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    430
    Thanks G/R
    2/3
    Trade Feedback
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I didn't actually test the code in-game, but the point is to check whether the unit ID you're looking for refers to the i-th raider. math.ceil( i / 5 ) would return exactly the group number if such i is found. I'll give it a bit of testing later.

  5. #5
    Soapbox's Avatar Legendary Founder of Soapbox Rotations

    CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    743
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    986
    Thanks G/R
    1118/364
    Trade Feedback
    61 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by RedRussian View Post
    I didn't actually test the code in-game, but the point is to check whether the unit ID you're looking for refers to the i-th raider. math.ceil( i / 5 ) would return exactly the group number if such i is found. I'll give it a bit of testing later.
    problem is the raider i will remain the same regardless of which group they are in. just because they are raid1 does not mean they are in the 1st group[. they can be in group 6. i got it figurted out tho i trhink

  6. #6
    RedRussian's Avatar Banned CoreCoins Purchaser Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    221
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    430
    Thanks G/R
    2/3
    Trade Feedback
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, thanks for clarification. I thought that the "raid"..i guy must neccessarily occupy the i-th slot in the raid group.

Similar Threads

  1. [Buying] LF someone who has United Kingdom Phone/Cell Number to do me a favour paying 10EUR !
    By chocolatefruit in forum World of Warcraft Buy Sell Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2012, 11:37 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 08:40 PM
  3. Mages: Jobs in Party
    By oninuva in forum World of Warcraft Guides
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 01:28 PM
  4. Hunters: Jobs in Party
    By oninuva in forum World of Warcraft Guides
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 01:26 PM
  5. Palidan: Jobs in Party
    By oninuva in forum World of Warcraft Guides
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2006, 11:24 AM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search