0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

LOTR Online

So, I play WoW every night. I enjoy it, despite it's flaws, because I view all of its problems as fixable over time. But a couple of weeks ago I started playing Lord of the Rings Online.

I started a Dwarf Guardian, then put him on hold at level 6 for awhile. In the meantime I played a Race of Man Captain (hehe "Man-Captain") up to level 9 as an alt. Now I'm back to the dwarf who has achieved level 12. I think I've played enough of the game's early portion to offer up my opinions.

I really like it.

First of all, as much as I love WoW, it's really difficult not to notice the stark contrast in polish between the two relatively new MMOs. Granted WoW seems like it has a much larger world, and some of the game systems (crafting, etc) are more intricate, but LOTRO just... glides. It's clean, it's shiny. It's pretty impressive, really.

First of all, I'm a texture nut. I always prefer games that use textures on the models instead of trying to use polygons and lighting to do most of the work. High quality textures by a talented artist always have far more personality, and are far more detailed and fun to look at. So I was pleasantly surprised to see that LOTRO had such crisp and detailed textures on things like faces, armor, environments, etc.

I certainly never thought I'd enjoy an MMO based on a license. It always seemed to me like there would be too many limitations. And there are limitations, of course. I mean they can't make up new playable races, really. We'll never get a wyvern or a griffin as a ridable mount. But I must say, Turbine seems to really be making it work so far. I haven't really felt confined in the game.