DirectX/CEGUI hooking? menu

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 75
  1. #1
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    DirectX/CEGUI hooking?

    I heard Cypher say something about hooking CEGUI and using it for an in-game UI for your hacks, how do you go about doing this? Just make a codecave and CreateRemoteThread() to load a dll that makes the UI? I guess thats the easy part though. I need help with how you would use WoW's DX9 ...include?... in your DLL.

    DirectX/CEGUI hooking?
  2. #2
    Greyman's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    61
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    40
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't hook CEGUI.

    You hook DirectX and paint over the top of it with CEGUI.

    There are several open-source apps that hook DirectX to do one thing or another. I woud suggest starting with one of those.

  3. #3
    Cypher's Avatar Kynox's Sister's Pimp
    Reputation
    1356
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,368
    Thanks G/R
    0/4
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check the DirectX section of Game Deception. Theres blenty of DX bases to get you started.

  4. #4
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Was i correct with the createremotethread() part? would that be the easiest way to accomplish this?

  5. #5
    Greyman's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    61
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    40
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why don't you give it a shot and see for yourself? In the time you've waited for a reply, you could've knocked up a prototype from scratch.

  6. #6
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I like to succeed the first time, it helps my ego... and self-esteem... and self-respect.

  7. #7
    Cypher's Avatar Kynox's Sister's Pimp
    Reputation
    1356
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,368
    Thanks G/R
    0/4
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by lanman92 View Post
    I like to succeed the first time, it helps my ego... and self-esteem... and self-respect.

    I'd be more worried about your self-esteem issues than your programming issues in that case if I were you.

  8. #8
    KOS0937's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    129
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by lanman92 View Post
    I like to succeed the first time, it helps my ego... and self-esteem... and self-respect.
    why does it help you ego to come to a forum and beg for help? figuring it out by yourself is much more rewarding!

  9. #9
    Cypher's Avatar Kynox's Sister's Pimp
    Reputation
    1356
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,368
    Thanks G/R
    0/4
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by KOS0937 View Post
    why does it help you ego to come to a forum and beg for help? figuring it out by yourself is much more rewarding!

  10. #10
    Xarg0's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    61
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    389
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hook endScene() and do your dirty shit in there
    I hacked 127.0.0.1

  11. #11
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay. I'll try to do this now... I just didn't really know where to start. -is not a big fan of C++-

  12. #12
    Shynd's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    97
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    393
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want to avoid C++, avoid an in-game GUI. Simple as that. If you're just doing it for debug output purposes, output to the WoW Console. Much less C++ involved--in fact, you could call the console functions via a code cave, enabling you to do it in whatever language you want.

  13. #13
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Writing the ASM for the codecave will be just as difficult =/ I'll just work on my C++, and look into what you suggested. I think i ran my eyes over a post about the WoW console on gamedeception.net... I'll go look for that again. Thanks again Shynd.

  14. #14
    lanman92's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    50
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by Cypher View Post
    I'd be more worried about your self-esteem issues than your programming issues in that case if I were you.
    lmao, I love you cypher...

  15. #15
    Cypher's Avatar Kynox's Sister's Pimp
    Reputation
    1356
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,368
    Thanks G/R
    0/4
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by Shynd View Post
    If you want to avoid C++, avoid an in-game GUI. Simple as that. If you're just doing it for debug output purposes, output to the WoW Console. Much less C++ involved--in fact, you could call the console functions via a code cave, enabling you to do it in whatever language you want.

    If you register commands with WoW's console you can do your UI in LUA as an addon.

    eg CConsole->RegisterCommand("CommandName","CommandHelp",&Command);

    then in your addon call:
    ConsoleExec("Command params_go_here");

    Originally Posted by lanman92 View Post
    lmao, I love you cypher...


Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with DirectX CreateDevice Hooking
    By rik.chong in forum WoW Memory Editing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2012, 04:50 AM
  2. Diablo III Directx 9 ES, DIP, SSS Hook -- By Bit_Hacker
    By BitHacker in forum Diablo 3 Memory Editing
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 06-19-2012, 09:30 AM
  3. CEGUI - EndScene Hook - DLL Function Call
    By Orix in forum WoW Memory Editing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2011, 03:51 PM
  4. Hooking DirectX CreateDevice
    By nitrogrlie in forum WoW Memory Editing
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 02:46 PM
  5. Hook a brother up..
    By HaSh in forum World of Warcraft General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2007, 03:36 PM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search