[Question] Make a url behind a button menu

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Darksid's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    375
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Question] Make a url behind a button

    im making a server launcher and i need to know how to make a button with a url behind it


    for example a button that says vote and when you click it it sends you to my server voting link!



    msn- [email protected]

    [Question] Make a url behind a button
  2. #2
    Apoc's Avatar Angry Penguin
    Reputation
    1387
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,750
    Thanks G/R
    0/12
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code:
    Imports System.Diagnostics
     
    Public Shared  Sub GoToURL(ByVal url As String)
        Process.Start(url)
    End Sub
    That will open the default browser, to whatever URL you pass it. (Should be simple enough to change)

    Of course, there's more fun ways to do it, but that's by far the easiest. (Not guaranteed to work on all machines however)

  3. #3
    Darksid's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    375
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this isnt working for me

  4. #4
    Apoc's Avatar Angry Penguin
    Reputation
    1387
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,750
    Thanks G/R
    0/12
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine for me.

    Code:
    Imports System.Diagnostics
    
    Public Class Form1
    
        Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Process.Start("www.google.com")
        End Sub
    End Class

  5. #5
    EmiloZ's Avatar Flying Piggy Back
    CoreCoins Purchaser
    Reputation
    538
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats too long a code

    use :

    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("http://mmowned.com/")
    this will take you to MMOwned.com
    Why fill up a signature?

  6. #6
    Apoc's Avatar Angry Penguin
    Reputation
    1387
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,750
    Thanks G/R
    0/12
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How is it too long of a code?

    It's just a button event handler that does just the same as you did.

  7. #7
    warsheep's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    184
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    k... the easiest way to do this (imo), is a mix between the things above.

    Create a button, call it "vote" or whatever you want, double click, and write
    process.start("http://We're no strangers to looooveeee, you know the rules, and so do I....com")


    This is basicly what Apoc said, just without the confusing stuff around, which
    the tools can do on itself, so you don't have to bother about it.
    Last edited by warsheep; 06-29-2008 at 05:22 AM.
    FOR A MOMENT, NOTHING HAPPENED. THEN, AFTER A SECOND OR SO, NOTHING CONTINUED TO HAPPEN.

  8. #8
    Darksid's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    375
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there anyway you can modify someone elses program when you know they used VB and ofcourse still keep the Copyright??
    Last edited by Darksid; 06-29-2008 at 11:30 AM.

  9. #9
    Apoc's Avatar Angry Penguin
    Reputation
    1387
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,750
    Thanks G/R
    0/12
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by Darksid View Post
    Is there anyway you can modify someone elses program when you know they used VB and ofcourse still keep the Copyright??
    Yes, but that's copyright infringement. And why do you need to do this?

  10. #10
    EmiloZ's Avatar Flying Piggy Back
    CoreCoins Purchaser
    Reputation
    538
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks G/R
    0/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by Apoc View Post
    How is it too long of a code?

    It's just a button event handler that does just the same as you did.

    Ye, But much more to type
    Why fill up a signature?

  11. #11
    Apoc's Avatar Angry Penguin
    Reputation
    1387
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,750
    Thanks G/R
    0/12
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not really, that's actually exactly what he was looking for in his first post. (Should read it if you haven't)

  12. #12
    warsheep's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    184
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Uhm, I don't get the thing between Apoc and Emilox, what Apoc said is
    process.run("http://url.com")
    while what Emiloz said was
    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("http://mmowned.com/")

    Apoc just took with what the tool originaly creates,
    so Emiloz, what you said requires more writing then what Apoc said.
    FOR A MOMENT, NOTHING HAPPENED. THEN, AFTER A SECOND OR SO, NOTHING CONTINUED TO HAPPEN.

  13. #13
    ReidE96's Avatar Archer Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    470
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,625
    Thanks G/R
    1/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    warsheep, Apoc had an Imports System.Diagnostics at the start.

  14. #14
    warsheep's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    184
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by ReidE96 View Post
    warsheep, Apoc had an Imports System.Diagnostics at the start.
    Oh, didn't notice that.

    Anyway, using the express edition, all I need to do for this is to write
    process.run, and assuming that the original poster uses that too,
    it would most likely run just fine without adding the import at the beginning.
    FOR A MOMENT, NOTHING HAPPENED. THEN, AFTER A SECOND OR SO, NOTHING CONTINUED TO HAPPEN.

  15. #15
    ReidE96's Avatar Archer Authenticator enabled
    Reputation
    470
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,625
    Thanks G/R
    1/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, you need to make the import or it can't start a process.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] Make whole wow into an inn?
    By Evolution in forum WoW ME Questions and Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 11:41 AM
  2. [Question] making a island in Gjilian`s isle
    By Errorx in forum WoW ME Questions and Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 05:36 PM
  3. [Question] Make your own mount
    By DarkFever in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 05:26 PM
  4. [Question] Making your own models. (Animation & Texturing)
    By aeonicx in forum WoW ME Questions and Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 07:17 PM
  5. [question] Making mounts
    By DarkFever in forum World of Warcraft Emulator Servers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 11:10 PM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search