Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need help deciding on a new graphics card.

My current is an Asus 7600GS 512MB DDR2 DVI VGA TVO PCI-E Graphics Card. I'm looking for a suitable, cost effective upgrade. I want to play stuff like COD 4 and Age of Conan on a decent setting and according to the manufacturers specs my graphics card is the only thing that's lacking (It meets minimum but not recommended). I have a budget of around £70-£100 max, would prefer lower price if possible! (140-200$), so i've not really got much to spend. I'm not looking for a state of the art 8800 or anything just something better than what I've got that will make a noticable difference to my FPS and the level of detail I can run games at. WoW is fine for me, 60 FPS always but on games such as Assassins Creed it runs a bit choppy and the models look kind of jagged round the edges. I know quite a bit about computers but I'm a total noob to graphics cards, I don't understand what anything above means. I know that 512mb isn't too bad but the rest of it might as well be a different language, and when searching for a graphics card I have been very confused. So if you could explain what is better about the one you recommend and how it will improve my performance I'd appreciate it. Also I've noticed my textures are a little messed up such as the grass on the floor in Garrys Mod is a little glitched and I think this might be due to my graphics card or current configuration.

For COD 4 it says Recommended: 3.0 Shader Support recommended. Nvidia Geforce 7800 or better or ATI Radeon X1800 or better.

For Age of Conan it says Recommended: 512 MB DirectX 9.0c Graphics Card with Shader 2.0 support (NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX or equivalent).

So I will be needing a card with these things, whatever they mean. Age of Conan is more important as I haven't got COD 4 yet and only thinking of getting it.

Thanks in advance.