Thanks G/R
    3/1
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Using CE (or favourite debugger) without getting banned?

Hi there,

I'm new to reversing and POE, however not new to r/w memory. I have written several cheats/overlays/bots in the past but I have always just stolen the offsets from some public source/forum. So now I want to learn to get the offsets for myself. It doesn't seem to complicated, and I will be cheating and using the patterns for GameState etc as a starting point

I have seen on reddit and the official POE forums that people have been banned for having Cheat Engine open on their computer. So my question is how do you debug the game and find offsets without getting banned?

Is it as simple as using this technique and restricted access by user? (Run PoE as a limited user) Or do I need to modify + compile cheat engine myself to change the sig? Or just change the window title?

Any info would be appreciated thanks!

Using CE (or favourite debugger) without getting banned?
    pushedx's Avatar Contributor
    Thanks G/R
    8/135
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You won't get banned for simply having a debugger running on your PC while PoE is open or actively debugging PoE.

I've yet to see a single person who has gotten banned from this specifically since 2012, and I myself have actively used PoE in a debugger since 2012 on a daily basis and have never run into any issues. You do want to spoof IsDebuggerPresent though, but that is to avoid exception issues where the debugger catches something the client does and crashes the client because you pass the exception to the client where it's not actually handled.