Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

[Guide]Skinning Techniques with Photoshop

Hello all!

I know I'm a noob on the site, and I've just started skinning on WoW, but don't let that turn you away. I've had plenty of skinning experience with other games, such as Halo and WoW is not much different.

This guide will help teach you how to make better skins using simple tools on Photoshop. I'll be using CS3 but the instructions should not vary much with each version.

What this guide will not teach you is exporting and importing textures into WoW. There are plenty of tutorials that teach you this. This one taught me, so I'd recommend it: Linky

Programs You Will Need
    -Photoshop
    -WoW Model Viewer (So you dont have to go ingame to see it)
    -BLP Converter
    -MyWarcraft Studio

Introduction to the Tools
    First I'll introduce you to the various tools we will be using in Photoshop.

The Polygonal Lasso Tool is probably the one tool you will use the most. It is unequivocally important when it comes to changing one part of the texture and not the rest.
    To use the lasso tool, simply click on the outline of the section of the texture you wish to select,and then continually click on points around the section until you close it off to complete the selection.

When you select something, it should look like this:

The Clone Stamp Tool lets us copy and blend a piece of a picture to our texture using brushes. To use it, Alt+Click an area on the Stock Image and then brush on the texture. By adjusting the opacity and etc. we can blend the cloned stuff in.

New Adjustment Layers have many uses, but the most notable and the one we will be using will be the Hue and Saturation layer which allows us to change a color.

Changing Colors
    Now at this point, after we have made the previous selection, we can either decide to edit the Voidwalker's body or its cuffs. Lets start with the body.