How I grind with two accounts simultanously (Mac, btw) menu

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    wowpew's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    121
    Thanks G/R
    0/3
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How I grind with two accounts simultanously (Mac, btw)

    Hi there,

    This is my first post, so Ill be gentle. Oh, wait… The other way around

    I recently bought a second account to have a mage power leveled for me, while I played on my own account. The thought was to have the mage moved to my first account, but after the power leveling i dawned on me. How cool would it be to play both at the same time. My lvl 60 Hunter was doing ok, grinding rugged leather & money in the yeti-cave in Winterspring. Add a lvl 60 mage, and everything goes way faster. Plus, no need to save mana, the mage will just whip up some water.

    As I am a mac-person, this will probably be of no use to most of you.

    First I searched the web high and low to find out how I could sen keystrokes to background processes. I can easily run two, or more, instances of WoW on my main computer. But sending keystrokes without the second instance of WoW coming to the foreground was, as far as I know, not doable.

    I dabbled a bit in Applescript in my youth, and remembered I once wrote a script that controlled iTunes on another mac on the network. Moving from that to sending keystrokes to WoW on that other mac, was a breeze.

    I use QuicKeys to map some of my Fn-keys to run Applescripts. So far, i have only mapped my mage fireball as it seems enough for now.

    The script first make the mage target me, the hunter, and presses the assist key to target whatever I am targeting, and fires a fireball at that target. Its as simple as that.

    Code:
    tell application "System Events" of machine "eppc://USERNAME:[email protected]"
    	tell application "World of Warcraft" of machine "eppc://USERNAME:[email protected]" to activate
    	keystroke return
    	keystroke "/target PLAYERNAME"
    	keystroke return
    	keystroke "f"
    	key code 20
    end tell
    USERNAME = the username of the user logged in on the target machine
    PASSWORD= the password of the user logged in on the target machine
    MACHINENAME = the rendesvouz name of the target machine (look in the Sharing prefpane if in doubt)
    PLAYERNAME = the ingame name of the character you are controling

    If I could figure out a way to send Fn-keystrokes, the script could be simplified a bit.

    As you can see most of what can be done via the keyboard in WoW, probably everything, can be remote controlled like this. Plus you could add as many "client"-machines as you'd like. 3 more mages, and I could do some serious damage. Not as much as a full group with 5 real people, but still.

    I don't think this can cause a ban. I don't think WoW can see the difference in a keystroke coming from "System Events" and a real keystroke. QuicKeys are a common macro-tool. There are plenty others that will map Fn-keys to an Applescript.

    There, any questions I can answer, Ill be happy to.

    How I grind with two accounts simultanously (Mac, btw)
  2. #2
    RichyG's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    45
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    340
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by tamen
    There, any questions I can answer, Ill be happy to.
    What?
    Horde Fanatic

  3. #3
    Tenche's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    127
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    391
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah this is a good guide on how to do this I was playing around awile ago and was trying different methods like chaning to PLIST file in the wow app package and having the same copy with a different PLIST also to play both and it works same thing to open up 2 versions of AIM on mac
    Mac OS is just an amazing System

    Thanks for the share and sorry for any grammer/stupid errors i am multitasking!
    I don't do design anymore

  4. #4
    cirko's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    99
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you make this to work with windows

  5. #5
    IJakobI's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    51
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    38
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a quick question. This canno be detected right? Since its trough keystrokes.

  6. #6
    wowpew's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    121
    Thanks G/R
    0/3
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by RichyG
    What?
    Answer.

    Originally Posted by IJakobI
    Just a quick question. This canno be detected right? Since its trough keystrokes.
    I dont think so. But whether wow can tell the difference between keystrokes send by AppleScript or by pressing a physical keyboard is way beyond me.

    If there is no difference, then no. This should be very safe. At least on the "client" computer where there is no extra software running. The one I am using to control both machines, needs an app running that maps Fn-keys to an AppleScript. But thats a very generel kind of app, and I don't think Blizzard ban because of those.

    Originally Posted by cirko
    Can you make this to work with windows
    I cant. Buy a real computer

    No, seriously, the generel principles might be doable on windows. But, I only have a Windows PC to play the games that don't run on my mac. (so for the time I dont use my PC at all since wow is the only thing I play)
    You would have to speak to someone with much more Windows-experience than me.
    Last edited by wowpew; 08-09-2006 at 12:30 AM. Reason: Auto-merged Doublepost

  7. #7
    subwoof's Avatar Member
    Reputation
    2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure if this works, I think I tried it before and couldn't get it to work....can't really remember.

    But have you tried something like:

    keystroke __ using fn down

    Dunno about fn, but I got this from here:

    http://www.dougscripts.com/itunes/itinfo/keycodes.php


    What do you use fn for anyway?..
    Last edited by subwoof; 08-09-2006 at 06:13 AM.
    mmm....pie..
    Hacks/Bots for Macs

  8. #8
    wowpew's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    121
    Thanks G/R
    0/3
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally Posted by subwoof
    What do you use fn for anyway?..
    Thats just my way of saying F1 thru F16

    I just found this: http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/knowled...fm?id=tn_15887

    So apparently there are keycodes for function keys as well. Gonna test it out later.

    Now, all we need is an easy way to determine the color under the cursor, and we can build a bot in Applescript.
    Last edited by wowpew; 08-09-2006 at 06:44 AM. Reason: Auto-merged Doublepost

  9. #9
    lagalot's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    19
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    86
    Thanks G/R
    2/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice job. This is the only site that actually gives a damn about us mac users. +rep for you

  10. #10
    xlAnonym0uslx's Avatar Contributor
    Reputation
    90
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    503
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    its says the content is visible to registered members only

  11. #11
    Ednasil's Avatar Active Member
    Reputation
    19
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    132
    Thanks G/R
    0/0
    Trade Feedback
    0 (0%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How I grind with two accounts simultanously (Mac, btw)

    lol nice post
    "What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?"

  12. #12
    amrican93's Avatar
    amrican93
    Guest

    Re: How I grind with two accounts simultanously (Mac, btw)

    Good post! +rep!

Similar Threads

  1. How to login with another account to Pokemon Go through Nox
    By Omega1337 in forum Pokemon GO Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2016, 04:08 PM
  2. Trying to xrealm hop with two accounts need help
    By dsig111 in forum World of Warcraft General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2013, 02:39 AM
  3. How can I merge two accounts?
    By Pentium in forum World of Warcraft General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2013, 07:59 AM
  4. How do you Playing Two Accounts on one PC at the Same time?
    By Lionofthewarriors in forum WoW Bots Questions & Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 03:22 PM
  5. Guide how to grind with all classes
    By terradragon in forum World of Warcraft Guides
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 04-27-2008, 04:36 PM
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search