• An interview with TurboHUD creator KillerJohn

An interview with KillerJohn

Recently there has been a lot of talk about TurboHUD in the Diablo 3 community. Debates over whether it was considered cheating or unfair began all while TurboHUD lost its home. I wanted to get a little more insight on what exactly was going down and what better way to do that than interviewing the creator himself, KillerJohn.

Real quick I would like to thank KillerJohn for his time. He is very busy with work, TurboHUD, and family so for him to do this for us was very generous.

Who is KillerJohn?

- My name is John, and I am a software engineer from Hungary. I started to code in 1991 when I was 8, and currently I work in a senior software architect role.

How did you get into the Diablo scene?

- I was always a huge fan of Blizzard games. Warcraft, Starcraft, Diablo. Those games defined my gaming experience at the later 1990s.

What exactly does TurboHUD do?

- Mostly it makes the game more fun and convinient. It gives you certainty that you are playing the game wrong or properly.

What made you want to start TurboHUD?

- I played Diablo 3 for two years, but after 2 months of gameplay I already found it's UI lacking important information. Too much distraction was there which prevented a fluid gameplay. You had to remember what is in the inventory, and where, how much stuff do you have, and so on. It is very important in this game to track your performance and optimize it. I saw many people tracking experience in Excel sheets, which triggered the alarm in my developer mind: I could do this better than Excel... I wanted to track the gained experience, gold found (it was important as well), monsters killed, experience per monster and so on. There are so many hidden (or just unexposed) mechanisms in the game which can modify your performance without even knowing it about - I had to reduce that.

How long have you been working on TurboHUD?